Yummy Chicken Salad

First off… I AM ALIVE! Yay good news this morning when I woke up my body wasn’t completely dead from yesterdays Boot Camp. My arms like by my shoulders and my chest hurt but those are the only two areas… I know I know… just wait until tomorrow right.

Anyways… I just got in from my walk with Harleyyy. We did another good speed walk. 20 Minutes while I finished my podcast from yesterday. I enjoy that podcast everyone should listen to it. fo. real.

Earlier today I made breakfast (which i’ll show you later in WIAW) then headed out to the gym. I read the rest of the Glamour magazine (FINALLY LC) and I got my Family Circle magazine in the mail yesterday so I took that. After 45 minutes on the elliptical I was done with cardio. I did two leg machines and peaced out.

I came home had breakfast #2… haha… played around on the computer trying to figure out how to make my blog more interesting… didn’t work. I’ll have to pick a day just for that one day.

Then I started making lunch/dinner.
Cranberry Pecan Chicken Salad
I’ll give you the recipe like I had it from Pinterest… but you’ll see why I didn’t stick to it.

Things You Need

  •  2 Chicken Breasts (Bone-in, skin-on)
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • 1/3 cup granny apple, diced into small chunks
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons light mayo
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

The first thing you need to do is cook your chicken.
Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. I cooked mine for about 30 minutes… but as you can see I used Chicken Tenders not on the bone and not with the skin on.

and it obviously made more than what two would make.
When it is done shred it up.

In another bowl you are going to start mixing together the dressing…
Mix Greek Yogurt, Mayo, and Apple Cider Vinegar together. I doubled the amount they said to use.
In another bowl add the Chicken, pecans, green apple, and cranberries. I also added a lot more than what they called for. I wanted more pecans, apples, and cranberry pieces in my chicken salad then chicken. 😛
Combine the two and you have a bangin chicken salad.
Chill it for at least an hour before eating.

I will show you the end results tonight! (: Stay Tuned.

I learned a few things about myself after making this.. one of which is I like Greek Yogurt! woot woot. I always tried yogurt and hated it.. like the yoplait stuff and the ones where you even mix candy in it. Never good. I  never tried Greek because I just didn’t think I would like it but boy was I wrong. This is wonderful news. Now I don’t have to be so jealous of people making yummy foods with it. Next time i’m at the store I’m gonna pick some more up. I only had the plain one… which was really plain… but maybe I will like the other kinds? Do you guys have any recommendations?

Now I must get ready for work and head out.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yummy Chicken Salad

  1. Name says:

    You ***MUST*** get the blood orange…it’s my, and now Ann’s favorite. Same with me on the greek yogurt — not a fan of reg yogurt.

  2. Lois Reidenbach says:

    I love the Chobani brand of Greek yougert. My favorite flavor is the honey. It is still 0 cholesterol but it is great!

  3. Pingback: WIAW | Itsaharleyyylife's Blog

Leave a Reply

