Calzone

I’m blogging outside on my new porch furniture with coffee in hand and a blanket around me since its still pretty cold for short sleeves and shorts. It is also a really gloomy day… but it is only 10 in the morning.

So I told you guys yesterday I would share with you the calzone recipe I made last night:

It was delicious. I didn’t really follow the recipe on pinterest to a t. So i’ll put what they had and then kinda how I did it.

Things you need:

  •  pizza dough ball (I used whole wheat from Giant)
  • 6 oz baby spinach
  • 2 sausages, out of casing
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of fat free ricotta cheese
  •  1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup of marinara sauce
I started by cooking the sausage on medium heat in the olive oil.

After that was pretty well cooked add the spinach until it starts to wilt.
While that is cooking preheat the oven to 375 degrees and roll out the pizza dough to make golf ball sized dough balls. I just used my hands to then spread it out but it would’ve helped a lot to have a rolling pin.
Now it’s time to load ’em up!

I added a spoonful of marinara sauce then split the sausage/spinach mixture into 6 even selections. Then I just threw some mozzarella cheese and spooned out some ricotta for on top. I just pulled all the sides up then, closed it off, and flipped it upside down so it wouldn’t come open. 
Stuck it in the oven for about 15 minutes and they were done.
Eric gave me a high five for this one but anything with sausage in he likes. 
Right now Harleyyy is chasing birds outside… well trying to:

I don’t know if you can see the bird in the background but he is there.
Just shows how Harleyyy needs a little friend to play with ::cough:: ::cough:: Eric ::cough:: ::cough::
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calzone

  1. Eric says:

    I brought the birds to play, what else do u want ha

  2. Pingback: Baked Squash and Ricotta | Itsaharleyyylife's Blog

Leave a Reply

