Quinoa for Breakfast

This morning I woke up EARLY! 7 am EARLY…. to hit the gym. Oh What was I thinking. I did 20 minutes on the eliptical and then did some of the arm exercises I showed you before and added a couple new ones I’ll have to show you some time. I also did some leg machines.

After the gym workout I came home, got ready for the day, and then made a new breakfast. I turned to pinterest to find one to try… and the winner was: Apple Cinnamon Quinoa.

Yum!

Things you need:

  •  1/2 Cup Water
  • 1/2 cup milk of your choice (i used almond milk)
  • 1/2 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 large apple
  • 1 T honey
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  •  extra stuff to put on top (ex: nuts, peanut butter, chocolate chips, etc)

Your first step is to make the quinoa by mixing water, milk, vanilla, and quinoa.

Cook how the directions say on the box, bag, etc.
While that is cooking cut your apple

Then microwave the diced apple, honey,  and spices for 1-2 minutes (apples should be slightly softened and warm)

Mix apple mixture with the cooked quinoa.
Then top it with any toppings you want. I put some walnuts and peanut butter in it.

I really liked this meal. It serves 2. It was kind of like oatmeal but different and still really good for you! I’m going to have the leftovers tomorrow. (:

After breakfast Steph and I headed to Etown to meet with the college for the Relay For Life event we are having there. We talked about the food do’s and don’ts for the night we will be there. After that Steph talked me into getting a Peanut Butter Smoothie. It was so good I’m glad she talked me into it. I came home and put dinner in the crockpot because I forgot to thaw it earlier in the morning. I’m making one of the meals from The Eat Now, Eat Later event Steph and I went to last week.

Then it was off to get my nails done… Really I don’t know why it takes 2 hours to do it but every time I go and do it I pretty much fall asleep. It always looks so good though so I guess I can’t complain too much.

Light purple just in time for Spring. (:

Then I came home and took a nap I was just to tired after sitting in that seat for two hours. haha.

Eric woke me up when he got home from work and said “Get ready we are going somewhere” It was a surprise! I’m blogging after the surprise… so guess you just have to wait until later tonight to hear what it was. (: Isn’t that a tease for ya.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quinoa for Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Free Rita’s | Itsaharleyyylife's Blog

  2. Dawn says:

    Found it! Nevermind!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

