What I Ate Thursday

Well since I messed up yesterday here we go today:

This morning I woke up and ate breakfast. It looked just like yesterdays anyways:

Chocolate Chip and Walnut Baked Oatmeal with bananas.

Then I took Harleyyy for a walk. Earlier this week I read pbfingers blog about how when she took her dog for a walk lately it seemed like it never ended… and I was like OMG when I go for a walk with harleyyy alone I feel the same way.. so she started listenting to Podcasts. I tried that today and listened to The Jillian Michaels Show. I walked for about 25 minutes and it flew by. The show was interesting I thought it would talk more about fitness and eating but it was just like a talk show. They talked about self esteem in children and how girls these days are posting videos on youtube asking if they are pretty or not. CRAZY!

After that I made dinner that i’ll get to in a second. Then it was off to run sprints with Grimm. I dont knwo why when I get outside I just have such a hard time running. I feel sick and gross… but when I go to the gym I’m fine… Tell me how that one makes sense.. boo.

Then I came home and had lunch:

A sandwhich and blueberry coffee.

The sandwhich didn’t have much to it. One piece of American Cheese and some Turkey. It was good though.

I also did some laundry throughout the day. Then I got ready for work and at 2 PM had a snack:

Some strawberries and bananas. Yum! I notice I take all of my pictures on my computer. haha.

The main event of the day though was making dinner:
Sausage and Quiona Stuffed Peppers.

They look and were delicious.

Preparation:

  • 4 Bell Peppers
  • 1 c chopped yellow onion (I just used 1/4 of one)
  • 2 sausages, removed from casings
  • 2 cups cooked quiona*
  • 1 and 1/4 cup tomatoes with juice
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 cup low-fat ricotta
  • 1/4 c plus 2 tbl crumbled reduced fat feta cheese

First to cook the Quiona you combine 2/3cup raw Quiona and 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil and simmer with the lid on for about 10-15 minutes

While that is going cut the tops off of the peppers and remove all of the seeds and white lining

In a large pot, heat water until boiling. Place the peppers in the water and cook for 4-5 minutes. This step is optional, but I like how it makes the pepers less hard to cut through in the end.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees

In a medium size pan, coat with cooking spray, cook the onions until soft for about 2-3 minutes over medium heat or until starting to become tender.

Add in sausage, and break it into pieces as it cooks. Continue to cook over medium-low heat until the sausage is browned and almost cooked, about 5-8 minutes

Reduce heat to low and add the quiona, spices, and tomatoes.
Mix together very well. Add the 1/4c. ricotta and 1/4c. of the feta; stir until they have slightly melted into the mixture.

Place the peppers in a baking dish with edges.
Put 1 Cup of the mixture into each pepper. Sprinkle the extra feta cheese on top.
Cook for 30 minutes and thats it. It was easy and I didn’t even set the fire alarm off! YAY!

One last note I got home last night and had a few surprises! Eric went out and bought us a new Wireless Internet thing because ours wasn’t really working that well and every 15 minutes it would go off and I’d have to unplug it and plug it back in. So annoying. He also bought us some tupperware that we have been needing for a week now! He even bought the good stuff. Hes so cute. haha.

Tomorrow I work a double… so I doubt anything fun and special will be going on… but you never know!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

