Chicken and Rice and Oatmeal

MMM doesn’t this title just sound delicious… haha maybe not together but definitely apart.

Yesterday I woke up and was so tired.. I’ve been tired ever since Saturday. Stupid Daylight Saving (no s) time. My original plan was to get up eat breakfast and go to the gym… but I just didn’t have it in me.  So I woke up ate breakfast and went back to my bed lol.

Breakfast:

We had seriously nothing in this house to eat. So I did with what I had. A sandwich thin which I have been addicted to a lot lately, peanut butter, and strawberries on top. It was really good.

Then Raquel called me to go to lunch. I wanted to go to this place to eat for awhile now. So i’m happy I could find someone that would go with me.

MMM… sushi. I love sushi. I had the philadelphia and sweet potato roll. (my two favorite.) The place was good. Just another sushi place to keep in mind.

Then I went to a pet store that was right by there to buy harleyyy another antler because well he is addicted to those things and his other one is getting pretty small.

Then it was back home for a nap until my massage. Eric took me to this place in the city last year for a couples massage and for Christmas he bought me 2 half an hour ones and I finally got to use one. I had her concentrate on my back and shoulders. Sitting at a desk all day at work doesn’t help them too much. My favorite part is when she massages my head though but then oil gets in my hair and I always feel gross after.

Oh yah. I went to the grocery store in between going back to bed and lunch. I love the grocery store. Then I came home and put in my crockpot meal for the week. Chicken and Rice… So i’ll get right on to this recipe:

CrockPot Chicken and Rice:

The things you need:

  • (1) 8oz box of Yellow Rice
  • (1) 10.5 oz can Cream of Chicken Soup (I got the fat free kind)
  • (1) 15 oz can Whole Kernel Corn
  • 1 Onion- ( I always just use a little bit of onion)
  • 4 Chicken Breasts (I used two)
  • 1 cup Cheddar Cheese


The first thing you do is put the chicken, onion, and Cream of Chicken Soup into the CrockPot.
The recipe I followed said to cook it on low for 7-8 hours or high for 3-4… but I kinda needed it in the middle of that. So I put it on High for about an hour and a half and then put it on low until we felt like having dinner.

When I was getting ready after the massage. Eric started making the Rice to go with the meal (it’s always good to get him to help out (: ) About 20 minutes later that was done so you add the rice, cheese, and corn into the crockpot and stir.

(I always catch him at his best moments)

The end product:

It was pretty delicious. I’d make it again.

Then we took Harleyyy on a walk by a nearby school. Eric and him threw ball a little and then we came back here to get ready for dodgeball.

After that it was icecream time andddddddddddddd

We booked our first vacation together to the most amazing place in the world!
Next month we will be going to Orlando and spending our days in Disney!  It’s just a short vacation but I’m so excited! The plane tickets and rental car are booked!

Then it was time for bed!

Today I got up and had an awful headache… I should always learn to just drink coffee when I get them because that usually takes the pain away! I ate my usual breakfast which I need to learn to take a picture of. It’s an egg on a sandwich then and grape jelly. I got that recipe from the one blog i follow pbfingers.

After I woke up for the 2nd time I got ready and headed to Grimm’s for a run throughout the city. One of these days i’ll be able to do the whole run without dying. I don’t know why it is so hard for me to do. It’s only about 2 and a half miles and I’ve ran longer than that plenty of times. Oh well.

I came home and watched the Noon News which had NEW GRAPHICS! so cool!

and it was time to make our breakfast for the week (or the next three days since I waited so long.. woops) You might remember from my past post the Baked Oatmeal.


Things you need:
I cut the recipe in half from what the one that I was following had because I didn’t need 18 of them.

  • 1 Egg
  • 1 cup of Applesauce, unsweetened
  • 2 1/2 cups Oatmeal
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 1/2 Cups Milk (I used almond milk)
  • 3 packets of no calorie sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • toppings (I used walnuts and chocolate chips)

First you preheat the oven to 350 Degrees

Mix eggs, vanilla, applesauce, banana, and sugar packets in a bowl.

Then add oats, salt, baking powder,  and Cinnamon. Mix.
Add Milk. Mix.

I was going to use muffin liners but then decided not to. So i sprayed the muffin pan with butter spray and filled them up. I had enough for 11.

Then its the fun part add the toppings. I put chocolate chips and walnuts because that is what Eric and I like and I had them already.
Put it in the oven for 30 minutes and….

YUM! I just couldn’t wait to have one so I had one for lunch which is always a good idea.

I added half a banana and it was the perfect amount to fill me up! A great Sunday lunch!

I’m hoping the rest of the day includes a hike with two of my favorite men and then its to use a Groupon with Steph! I can’t wait to blog about that!

Hope your Tuesday is as good as my Sunday! (:

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken and Rice and Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Thursday | Itsaharleyyylife's Blog

Leave a Reply

